Hip Hop / News / Trending

Summer Walker’s Soul Train Award Acceptance Speech Was So Summer Walker

Summer Walker may have given the shortest acceptance speech in award show history.

R&B newby Summer Walker has built her brand thus far on being an amazingly talented singer who doesn’t enjoy fame because of her social anxiety. The Over It songstress has sparked conversation and debates about mental health among celebrities and what fans should expect from entertainers who are introverted. She went as far as cancelling dates on her tour saying that interacting with so many people at once was too overwhelming for her to handle. So when she was given her first ever award at the 2019 BET Soul Train Awards, Summer delivered a speech that exemplified who she really is as a person once more.

Summer Walker received the award for Best New Artist Sunday night, beating out competition from Lucky Daye, Mahalia, Nicole Bus, Pink Sweat$ and YK Osiris. Summer rightfully walked away with the honor after her debut album broke the streaming record for female R&B. As the “Playing Games” singer timidly took the stage to accept her award, she may have given the shortest thank you speech in the history of awards. “Hi, um, thank you so much. I didn’t expect this. Thank you LVRN and thank you London On Da Track. I really appreciate it,” she said before turning and walking off the stage. The clip itself was only 17 seconds.

View this post on Instagram

?????? omfg wow I’m adorable

A post shared by Summer Walker (@summerwalker) on

Audience members hadn’t even stopped cheering before her speech was finished and of course the moment immediately went viral. Summer herself posted the footage with the caption “omfg wow I’m adorable” with several laughing emojis. But many fans didn’t find her speech funny and some took to social media to accuse her of putting on an act. Others came to her defense and noted how serious social anxiety is, and commended the singer for her accomplishments.

Other winners for the night included Cardi B, H.E.R., Lizzo, Khalid, Chris Brown and more.

Here’s a full list of nominations and winners from the 2019 BET Soul Train Awards:

Best New Artist

Summer Walker *WINNER

Lucky Daye


Nicole Bus

Pink Sweat$

YK Osiris


Soul Train Certified Award

Trevor Jackson *WINNER


Daniel Caesar



Kelly Rowland


Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Kirk Franklin *WINNER

Bebe Winans

Donald Lawrence

Erica Campbell

Tasha Cobbs Leonard

Tori Kelly


Rhythm & Bars Award

Cardi B, “Money” *WINNER

21 Savage feat J. Cole, “A Lot”

DaBaby, “Suge”

J. Cole, “Middle Child”

Meek Mill feat. Drake, “Going Bad”

Megan Thee Stallion feat. DaBaby, “Cash Sh*t”


Best R&B/Soul Female Artist


Ari Lennox



Mary J. Blige

Summer Walker


Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Khalid *WINNER

Anderson .Paak

Bruno Mars

Chris Brown

Daniel Caesar



Album/Mixtape of the Year

Cuz I Love You, Lizzo *WINNER

Shea Butter Baby, Ari Lennox

Indigo, Chris Brown

Ella Mai, Ella Mai

I Used To Know Her, H.E.R.

Free Spirit, Khalid


Song of the Year

“No Guidance,” Chris Brown feat. Drake *WINNER

“Before I Let Go,” Beyoncé

“Shot Clock,” Ella Mai

“Talk,” Khalid

“Juice,” Lizzo

“Girls Need Love (Remix),” Summer Walker feat. Drake


The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award

“Brown Skin Girl,” written by Beyoncé Knowles, Carlos St. John, Adio Marchant, Shawn Carter, Stacy Barthe, Anathi Mnyango, Michael Uzowuru, Ayodeji Balogun, Richard Isong (Beyoncé feat. Saint Jhn, Wizkid & Blue Ivy Carter) *WINNER

“Hard Place,” written by H.E.R., David Harris, Sam Ashworth & Ruby Amanfu (H.E.R.)

“Juice,” written by Theron Thomas, Sam Sumser, Sean Small, Eric Frederic & Melissa Jefferson (Lizzo)

“Make It Better,” written by Brandon Anderson, William Smokey Robinson, Alaina Chenevert, Miguel Atwood Ferguson, Daniel Manman Farid Nassar (Anderson .Paak feat. Smokey Robinson)

“No Guidance,” written by Christopher Brown, Aubrey Graham, Anderson Hernandez, Josha Lewis, Michee Lebrun, Nija Charles, Teddy Walton, Noah Shebib & Tyler Bryant (Chris Brown feat. Drake)

“Talk,” written by Howard Lawrence, Guy Lawrence & Khalid Robinson (Khalid)


Best Dance Performance

Chris Brown feat. Drake, “No Guidance” *WINNER

Beyoncé, “Spirit”

Danileigh feat. Chris Brown, “Easy (Remix)”

Lizzo, “Juice”

Normani, “Motivation”

Teyana Taylor, “WTP”


Video of the Year

Lizzo, “Juice” *WINNER

Alicia Key, “Raise A Man”

Beyoncé, “Spirit”

Childish Gambino, “Feels Like Summer”

Khalid, “Better”


Best Collaboration Performance

Chris Brown feat. Drake, “No Guidance” *WINNER

Ari Lennox feat. J. Cole, “Shea Butter Baby”

Beyoncé feat. Saint Jhn, Wizkid & Blue Ivy Carter, “Brown Skin Girl”

Cardi B & Bruno Mars, “Please Me”

PJ Morton & JOJO, “Say So”

Ty Dolla $ign feat. J. Cole, “Purple Emoji”