Dancehall / News

Nominations Now Open For 38th International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA)

Reggae and Dancehall fans worldwide can begin to nominate artistes to contend for top honors at the 38th International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA), which is scheduled t take place on Sunday, March 29, 2020 at the AC Marriott Hotel, in Kingston.

Nominations are now open for submission across 36 categories, which include Recording Artiste of the Year, Entertainer of the Year, Best Male and Female Vocalists, Best Song, Best Album, Best Crossover Song, Best Gospel Song, Best New Entertainer, Best Male and Female Deejays, among others.

Nominations can be placed via the IRAWMA website. In addition to the 36 categories for open nominations, special awards will also be given in three other classifications, namely the Special Freedom Fighter Award of Honour, Hall of Fame Inductee, and the Special Martin’s Award of Honour.

The 2020 staging will be the fifth time the awards is being staged in Jamaica. The IRAWMA was established in 1982 and seeks to acknowledge and honor the accomplishments and contributions of world reggae artistes, songwriters, performers, promoters, and musicians, as well as promote greater participation and acceptance of Reggae, Caribbean and World Music, internationally.

The awards which is produced by Martin’s International has been staged in several major cities in North America, including Atlanta, Chicago, Fort Lauderdale, Miami, New Orleans, and New York. It has even been held in Port of Spain, Trinidad, and both Montego Bay and Ocho Rios.

At the 2019 event, which was held in Kingston in May, Popcaan copped both the Entertainer of the Year and the Best Album Awards, while Chronixx took home the Male Vocalist of the Year title. Chronixx’s his compatriot Koffee was presented with the Female Vocalist, Best New Entertainer Award, and Best Teen Entertainer awards.

Incarcerated deejay Vybz Kartel was awarded the Best Song for his Under Water single.

Glory To God by Wayne Marshall featuring Tessanne Chin and Ryan Mark voted the best Gospel Song, while the Best Male and Female Deejays were Vybz Kartel and Spice, respectively.