Nicki Minaj, Wiz Khalifa & Lil Wayne Lead BET Hip-Hop Awards

Platinum-selling rapper Nicki Minaj, Lil Wayne, Kanye West and Wiz Khalifa lead this year’s annual BET Hip-Hop Awards set to take place next month.

Lil Wayne is riding a high with with 18 nods, followed by Kanye West and Wiz Khalifa, who are both tied with the second most.

Lil Wayne has been nominated in categories of Lyricist of the Year, MVP of the Year, and Video of the Year for “I’m on One” and “Look at Me Now,” which he shares with Chris Brown and Busta Rhymes.

Kanye West and Wiz Khalifa, who tied with nine nods each including MVP of the Year. Rick Ross follows with eight and Chris Brown nabs six.

Nicki Minaj is the only female rapper nominated this year in categories including Lyricist of the Year and CD of the Year for her breakthrough debut Pink Friday.

Comedian Mike Epps is slated to host the ceremony schedule to take place on October 1 at the Boisfeuillet Jones Atlanta Civic Center in Atlanta. The show will air on BET, nine days later, on October 11 at 8 p.m.