News / Trending

Nas Marks 20th Anniversary Of His Classic Illmatic With New Album

It was 20 years ago that Nas released what would have become one of the greatest hip-hop albums of all time, Illmatic.

Nas will be marking the milestone with a new album Illmatic XX, due on April 15. The double-disc album will be released under SONY Legacy and features some rare remixes from the original set.

DETAILS: Nas Preps New Album, Talks New Single “Sinatra In The Sands”

Nas has also announced his upcoming Illmatic U.S. Tour starting this spring at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

Nas illmatic xx

The rap icon will also be releasing a documentary titled Time Is Illmatic. The documentary, due later this year, will chronicle the making of Illmatic and the inspirations behind the album.

“With Illmatic, I didn’t think about it. I just did it,” Nas said. “I believe everybody has good instincts. Now I’m a man from that past and I’m supremely grateful. There’s a Nigerian proverb ‘What is past is prologue.’ I’m here today because of Illmatic.”

See Illmatic XX Tracklisting:

Disc 1: Remastered Original Album

1. “The Genesis”
2. “N.Y. State of Mind”
3. “Life’s a Bi–h”
4. “The World Is Yours”
5. “Halftime”
6. “Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park)”
7. “One Love”
8. “One Time 4 Your Mind”
9. “Represent”
10. “It Ain’t Hard to Tell”

Disc 2: Demos, Remixes & Live Radio

1. “I’m a Villain” (previously unreleased)
2. The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993 (previously unreleased freestyle)
3. “Halftime (Butcher Remix)”
4. “It Ain’t Hard to Tell (Remix)” (promo single)
5. “One Love (LG Main Mix)”
6. “Life’s a Bi–h (Arsenal Mix)” (promo single)
7. “One Love (One L Main Mix)”
8. “The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)”
9. “It Ain’t Hard to Tell (The Stink Mix)” (UK single)
10. “It Ain’t Hard to Tell (The Laidback Remix)” (UK single)

One Comment

  1. Jecky Worlator Krash Dezor

    the realest are neva forgotten. KING NAS